Sorry Blogfans, I forgot about you all

Well, here I was having a nice little Blogholiday, and I completely forgot about you blokes.  Not that you’re forgettable or anything, but you’re obviously not unforgettable either, because clearly I forgot you. 

The Blogholiday, and so nice it is too, is taking place in my favourite Canadian city, Fredericton, capital of the Maritime province of New Brunswick.  I have been lodging with some grateful Blogfans – two older women – who have both been very kind and provided many a laugh (at my expense, of course).  Thanks to you both and it’s been great, not to mention extremely relaxing. 

I lived in Fredericton for a year, some time ago now.  This is my third visit to Fredericton, and the place has lost none of its charm.  It is said that cities around the world have certain basic features which make them indistinguishable:  carbon copied conglomerates of people, buildings, and sounds, sirens at night, crowds through the mall, cars on the freeway, a neverending flow of movement that, when it comes down to it, all engender the same sense of anonymity. 

There is something about Fredericton that makes it different from most cities.  I’ve never been able to put my finger on what exactly makes it different, so I’m not going to try.  Perhaps it’s the people I know here.  Every city has a downtown area, a centre-ville, which epitomises the heart and soul of the town as a whole.  Fredericton is not a big city, as far as cities go; downtown is characterised by tree-lined streets, beautiful old houses, and interesting shops within a smaller geographical area than other cities.  Fredericton is divided by a river, a proper river, not some little gully, and three bridges.  Two of them are just normal everyday old bridges; the third is a walking bridge. 

I’ll show you some photos of the city; there are not very many because I’m shit at taking photos of building et al., and also have had to enlist the help of an enthusiastic Blogfan who takes really great photos. 

 

 

 

City Hall

Museum

Hope that gives you a bit of an idea.  Now, here are some photos of the views both from the bridge and around the downtown area: 

 

 

 

 

Lighthouse on Saint John river

 

 

 

 

The walking bridge, 580 metres long, crosses the Saint John river.  It was once a railway bridge, but now is part of the numerous trails which crisscross the city.  Here’s a few piccies from various angles: 

 

  

Underneath the bridge. I got rained on whilst taking this.

 

 

Walking trail just off the bridge, beautiful eh?  They’re all like this: 

  

I’ve walked across this bridge trillions of times…well, not trillions, but plenty anyway.  I hope none of you took me literally then, and thought I really had walked across more than 1,000,000,000,000 times.  You probably did, Mum. 

Back home, whenever I’m thinking about Fredericton I think about this bridge, the numerous crossings, and the view.  I walk across the bridge now, in 2010, my steps resonating with that same familiarity.  Somewhere within the repeating sounds I hear the voices of my daughter and my friend, echoing through the years.  I remember every happy time on this bridge.  I am content.  It is enough.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sorry Blogfans, I forgot about you all

  1. rattratt says:

    “…older women…”

    Would that make you the pot or the kettle?

    So, you’re moving on to Nova Scotia when…?

  2. IT"S ME says:

    Great to get your blog, …… forgotten ‘though we had been ! You sound very happy, so could not ask for more, eh? Loved Janet’s blog of you taking pics., also the pics in this blog. No wonder you love the place so much.
    Love always
    Mother.xxxx

Leave a Reply

