I, and Hurricane Earl, Hit Newfoundland

Well, Blogees, I’ll have you all know I’ve just survived a hurricane, yes, a hurricane, and I’ve been camping, yes camping, throughout.  Even though the winds, as I typed, were still somewhat brisk, and the internet access pretty much non-existent, I endeavoured to bring this juvenile rubbish to you nonetheless.  Obviously I have little else to do.  

Well, maybe that’s a bit Porkyish.  I have done stuff over the last few days.  I took some rather ordinary photos of the surrounds of Rocky Harbour, Newfoundland, where I sat out Hurricane Earl.  I ate a roast beef/salami/ham/cheese/nothing else that’s all roll (what gives here, and what kind of a feed is that??), I had a nanna nap, and I bought some cheap, nasty trinkets for those I care about.  

The photo stuff is beyond my control.  The last few blogposts, the gorgeous writing has been mine, but the photos, most of them, have been courtesy of TR.  Alas, TR has now returned to work, thus I’ve been on my own in the piccie department.  So you’re just going to have to cop this second rate crap, Blogsters.  Sorry. 

Anyway, back to me, and my Campfest amidst the Hurricane. 

I was lying in the tent during the hurricane, and spied what I first surmised was a leech.  Ick, I thought, and freaked out Mightily whilst frantically getting all my veins out of reach.  Then I saw a cute little head, with two pointer things atop, and identified it as a slug, ostentatiously refugeeing from the storm.  In hindsight, Blogsters, it probably wasn’t a slug.  It was probably a flesh-eating, AIDS-bearing morphosous of a cloned duck or something, who would know.  I flicked it to the curb, just to be safe. 

I had a fitful night’s sleep.  The wind howled against my tent, and I was thankful I’d banged the pegs in firmly that afternoon when setting up.  I was warm and dry, but couldn’t help taking frequent peeks at my bike out there in the rain.  I did not want to see it arse-up the next day.  It was fine though, didn’t move an inch! 

I stayed here two nights.  The following day, I set out to get some photos of Rocky Harbour and an adjacent community, Norris Point.  Both are on the west coast of Newfoundland. 

Along the seashore: 

 

 

In one of the many bays: 

 

 

 

I took a photo of the below shed to show you Aussies the design of a lot of places here, not just in Newfoundland, but across Canada.  So different from boring old brick, eh.  These structures have some character about them.  The roof has shingles, no tiles here – I don’t reckon they would last long in the winter weather.  Just after I’d taken this photo the owner of the shed came over for a chat.  He said he stores his boat there.  He was very interested in my trip and to know that I’d travelled across Canada.  Anyway, here’s the shed.  Note the shingles on the roof: 

 

Jumped on the bike and went up the road a bit to visit this lighthouse.  The flags show how windy it was, the aftermath of the hurricane, I guess: 

 

 

Got a few more pics of Rocky Harbour.  Beautiful spot: 

 

 

 

 

 

The next day, I packed everything on the bike and went north to a place called “Port Au Choix”, further up the coast.  I stayed at a B & B there.  Very glad I did.  Although Port Au Choix is only 163 kms from Rocky Harbour, the wind was so strong (60-70 km/h) I could not travel any further.  Quite frightening really.  The bike was bent over to a 45-50 degree angle against the wind.  My skills, and my strength, aren’t so great that I can cop that for any considerable distance.   

“Port Au Choix” is pronounced…well…how I wouldn’t have thought it was pronounced.  It’s not “Port a Choiks”, and it’s not “Port a Shoe”, either.  Apparently it is “Port a Shw-u”.  You say “Shw”, then you say the “u” bit as in “cup”.  I would never have known… 

I stayed at Jeannie’s Bed and Breakfast.  Jeannie was lovely, very welcoming and called me “M’Darling” and “M’Dear”.  I was a little taken aback at the familiarity until I learned that Newfoundlanders address people in this manner as a matter of course.  Then I thought it was charming.  Jeannie made me feel right at home, and I recommend this place for anyone wanting a nice place to stay.  Here are her digs: 

Jeannie's...a haven after a rough day

 

 

 

From Port Au Choix I rode further north, my destination being L’Anse Aux Meadows.  This hamlet lies at the very tip of Newfoundland, a windswept and desolate place.  I loved it (apart from the wind).  It is so isolated, peaceful, and quiet.  I decided to stay at another B & B here…well, there were no other options, not even camping.  I was not a M’Darling or M’Dear at this place, but felt very welcome nonetheless.  I was joined at the B & B by a myriad of retirees, clones of those I successfully avoided in Whitehorse all those months ago.  Friendly people though, from all over Canada and the US, and interesting to talk to. 

Here are a couple of pics of the view from my room: 

 

 

It is in L’Anse Au Meadows that the Vikings settled for a short period of time; here that archeological digs revealed the settlements they established during that time.  I was surprised to learn they were only here for about 10 years or so.  The site itself is well set up:  they have a recreation of one of the houses with fair dinkum Vikings therein.  First, though, here are the surrounds of the settlement: 

 

 

There was this, of the Viking’s route south to Newfoundland: 

 

Then, a recreation of a Viking house, based on archeological findings carried out in the 1960s and 70s: 

 

 

 

Inside: 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My word, it was about 9 degrees when I took these photos, and I was glad to stand by that fire for a while!  This whole place was very well done, and as I said, based on findings from the archeologists.  All extremely interesting.  

I like this place, but it is very windy.  I need to leave here tomorrow and head south, then west, to Saint John’s, the capital of Newfoundland.  This is a beautiful province, but alas the weather has not been that kind.  In the coming days I will endeavour to carry out the third part of my journey, that is, to dip my feet in the cold waters of the Atlantic.  I may be successful, or may not.  It won’t be for the want of trying. 

I’ll leave you with a couple of hastily snapped piccies of the sunset yesterday.  It was so cold I ran out the door, quickly took these, then ran back inside to the warmth!  More soon. 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to I, and Hurricane Earl, Hit Newfoundland

  1. rattratt says:

    “second rate crap”

    That’s what you’re full of Nanna.

    Nobody reading this blog (both of them) would ever be able to tell any difference in the photos, so shut up, click away and keep posting!

    TR

  2. Elaine says:

    I couldn’t tell TR is not doing any piccies. Great job shear genius and the writing wasn’t too bad eather ha. Wishing you well with the wind.

    Pink Bike Rider

  3. IT"S ME says:

    A hurrican, no less ! just glad we didn’t know that at the time. Your much a-waited blog and good pics were of great interest to both of us. I had been especially keen to read what you had to say re the Vikings. Only such a short time there,I wonder why ? lack of food ? shelter ? cold would not be an issue ! Actually their house looked snug, wouldn’t mind it myself sometimes !
    That pic. of the shed, well, no doubt that is a ”classy” place, would put the Aussie sheds to shame.
    So it was cold there? let me tell you, it’s raining here, and COLD too.
    Off to crawl under a blanket !
    Enjoy, travel safely
    Love always
    Mother.xxxx

  4. Annette says:

    Geez Perky – if you don’t stop bagging your photographic skills I’m going to take your EOS off you (I’ve already told you I want your lens)! The pics are great – they tell the story of your travels wonderfully.

    I loved the one with peanut butter mess in the thingy on the bike. My first thought was looks like someone crapped in there”. Second thought: ‘Vegemite. She should have taken vegemite cos it would have blended in with the colour of the bike thingy’.

    Keep up the wonderful blog – it makes great reading and safe travels to you.

  5. helen tallack says:

    Oh my goodness- camping in a hurricane – and you call that a holiday!! I’m a camper from way back and have camped in very windy storms, but have no desire to make it through a hurricane! Yay for you. The photos are terrific. What beautiful sunset photos. Hope it’s smooth sailing from here to home.

  6. Margaret says:

    Well now you have just done everything. I am enjoying your blogs and have a kick out of reading them,

  7. Margaret Johns says:

    Hey are you getting my replies I seem to not know if they are being put on.

Leave a Reply

