Goodbye, Farewell, and Amen (Part I)

To continue on from whence I left you, Blogfans, it was in St. John’s that I viewed the Atlantic Ocean, thus completing the third leg of my 3 Ocean’s Tour.  More about that later.  The weather was so bad I couldn’t actually ride to Cape Spear, which is Canada’s easternmost point and just outside St. John’s.  You just can’t predict these things, but I had to get to Cape Spear and did so by means of a tour bus.  I’m glad I did, because there were only three of us plus the tour guide, John, which made for an interesting and informative trip.  John was a hive of information about the area, and took us to an out of the way place for lunch.  For the life of me I can’t remember the name of this place, but here it is:   

Out of the way place for lunch

I hate seafood, eh.  Just don’t like it, don’t like the taste.  But John convinced me to try the fish and chips they serve here.  He reckoned they were the best anywhere.  He was right.  This place is near the water, right where the fishing boats come in.  I had a piece of Cod that had been happily swimming around in the ocean only hours ago.  Imagine that?  Not many places you can go for lunch and get fish that fresh.  It was bloody delicious too.   

John took us to another interesting place on the way to Cape Spear – Signal Hill.  There are a few interesting things about this place:  it is the site of the last battle of the seven years’ war in 1762.  It was here in 1901 that Marconi received the first transatlantic wireless signal.  Sitting here with my laptop and iPhone, I can’t help but be astounded at how far technology has progressed in a little more than 100 years.   

This is Cabot Tower at Signal Hill, and was constructed in honour of Queen Victoria’s diamond jubilee:   

Cabot Tower, Signal Hill

Long way from Europe, even further to Aussieland!   

 John had some interesting information about the Titanic, which sank on the way to New York in 1912 after coming off second best in a tussle with an iceberg.  I remember watching a TV program about the discovery of the ship, and the submersibles which took some amazing photos of its resting place.  The water pressures down there are incredible, after all, it is several miles down.  This is what such pressure will do to a styrofoam cup.  A group of scientists did an experiment and sent this down to test the effects of the water pressure:   

Take a styrofoam cup, much like this...

This is what the water pressure down there will do to it

The above is the actual cup they sent down.

Another interesting artefact – some coal from the Titanic:   

 Then we reached Cape Spear.  I had been planning to dip my feet in the ocean here, but alas, it was impossible.  Not only was the weather too bad, but it was actually prohibited for safety reasons.  Here’s a pic of the sea, they actually get tsunami-like waves from time to time; these have washed the foolhardy to their deaths.  In fact, at least eight people have drowned here after getting too close:   

    

And the warning sign, which I diligently observed (despite a brief tug of temptation):   

 

Here I am at Cape Spear:I’ve always reckoned that stories should have a beginning, a middle, and an end, and so it is with this one.  There is still a little more to write before the blog ends.  Stay tuned for Part 2.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Goodbye, Farewell, and Amen (Part I)

  1. Elaine says:

    Thank you very much. I didn’t know that very interesting tid bit about cups and water pressures.

    Ex pink bike rider

  2. IT"S ME says:

    no doubt that was a lot of interesting facts. Most welcome, so now I will print it out for Dad, as he finds it easier to read than here off the computer. We will look forward to part 2, which will be equally as interesting.

  3. IT"S ME says:

    By the way, HOWEVER DID YOU RESIST THE TEMPTATION to scale over the fence and dip your toes in the ocean at Cape Spear. ?? SO proud of you, also that is a very nice photo of you there. Now stay safe for goodness sake. !!!

  4. Kimberlee says:

    NOOOOOOOOOOOO I DON’T WANT IT TO END!!!! I do want you to come home though. Face!! Love you xxox

  5. Lucy says:

    Cape Spear? Cape Fear?! Those seas are rough. If that was the Sunshine Coast, there’d be fruitloops surfing in it!!

Leave a Reply

